“Vegan Peace Waffles,” Anyone?

veganmofo
Waffle with SpreadHubby’s cell phone pic of my tasty “Naked Vegan Waffle.” Click on the waffle for recipe!

Mmmmm, waffles!

Breakfast is different around the world.  From country to country and from house to house, you just never know what you’ll get when you wake up in the morning.   Still…most people are picky about the way in which they start their day.  For that reason, some people say you shouldn’t mess with breakfast.  I understand this sentiment, because the thought of making pancakes or waffles without milk or eggs gave me pause.   I wasn’t worried about a change in flavor, so much.  But I was worried about a change in texture and compositional integrity.  I don’t like big, doughy messes, and when I wake up in the morning I am not in the mood for failure.  I worried that vegan recipes for  pancakes and waffles wouldn’t pan out.  So I fretted.  And I procrastinated.  And my kids ate cereal.   For weeks.  And then I fretted some more.  And then I found this website: WaffleParty.com And then I learned that my fretting was wasted energy.  That waffle you see up there?  It tasted every bit as yummy as it looks.  There was no compromise in waffle flavor or integrity whatsoever.  Serve these to your non-vegan friends, and the only thing they’ll have to say to you is “yum-o.”  These waffles stack up.

Anyone who’s been throwing “Waffle Parties” since 1998 knows a good waffle when they eat one. Considering Dave and Jen Wheitner’sWaffle Parties” have been vegan since 2007, they’ve had lot’s of time to work out the kinks.  But why in the world do these people host “Waffle Parties?”   Good question.  I can’t really figure out why they started all this.  But whatever the genesis, today it’s the fun and friendly way in which they help people promote healthy, compassionate and sustainable ways of eating all over the world, during the months of May and June.

Make Waffles, Not War? On September 24, 2009,  in Pittsburgh, PA, Dave and Jen held a “G-20 Vegan Peace Waffle Summit” to express their support for environmental, food security, human rights, animal rights, and public health causes.  They offered their “Vegan Peace Waffles” to anyone in Pittsburgh who was participating in G-20 activities.  Now how cool was that?

Vegans everywhere share a concern for the health of our planet, it’s people, and it’s animals.  We all dream of a peaceful and creualty-free future.  However, nothing is going to change if we don’t act.  So the next time you want to make a difference, don’t club your friends and family over the head with veganism.  (Not sustainable.)   Instead, dust off your waffle iron, feed some folks, consider throwing a waffle party, and make a few people smile.   Then tell them the truth in love.  Talk about the food we eat and it’s impact on our our health and happiness.  Talk about how our choices affect food availability to people all over the world.  Talk about the environment, the animals, whatever you want if you can broach it in a way that won’t cause nausea and indigestion.   And then send people home with a recipe for vegan waffles, because breakfast is a great way to start a the day….and it’s even better if you start it the vegan way.

8 Comments

Filed under Appetisers, Breads & Muffins, Desserts, Entrees, Snacks

8 responses to ““Vegan Peace Waffles,” Anyone?

  1. Looks “lekker” as we say in the Netherlands!!! I love breakfast. Sadly no waffle iron, though.

  2. Mo

    You had me at “cell phone pic.”

  3. Wow, seldom have I seen such waffle enthusiasm! I myself am not a fan of waffles (a lot of work and I’ve never actually liked the texture or taste of waffles)–it’s great that you found a vegan recipe you love, though! But I do love Isa’s ‘Fronch Toast’ recipe! Have you tried that one?

  4. Carla, I have not tried the “Fronch Toast.” I have the recipe though, so I’ll give surely give it a try now that you’ve mentioned it!

    Faith

  5. Lee

    OK I see a few things I really need to try beginning with the waffles. Really really hungry now.

    • Thanks for stopping by! The waffles are an easy item to start with, and you can take that basic recipe into a lot of different and delicious directions. But ohhhh, if you can set aside some time to experiment with making the BBQ Tempeh recipe and the coleslaw, you will NOT be sorry! It’s soooo worth it.

  6. Thanks for the sharing! Your post really assisted me.

Leave a Reply

